Wage and Hour Compliance


Minimum Wages

Minimum wages vary from state to state. There is a trend that cities within the states are passing their own minimum wages. Roughly 35 different locations have higher minimum wages than the Federal rate of $7.25. California not only has a state rate but different cities have passed minimum wages rates above the state rate…. Read more »


Mileage Rates Increase in 2015

Beginning on Jan. 1, 2015, the standard mileage rates for the use of a car, van, pickup or panel truck will be: 57.5 cents per mile for business miles driven, up from 56 cents in 2014 23 cents per mile driven for medical or moving purposes, down half a cent from 2014 14 cents per… Read more »

Posted on December 10, 2014 by Rick Rossignol


Minimum Wage Increases for 2015

State Minimum Wage Rates Set to Increase The minimum wage will rise in a number of states next year. Unless otherwise noted, the following minimum wage rates (per hour) are scheduled to become effective on January 1, 2015: Alaska: $8.75 Arizona: $8.05 Arkansas: $7.50 Connecticut: $9.15 (gratuity allowance for certain waitpersons rises to 36.8% of… Read more »

Posted on December 3, 2014 by Rick Rossignol


City Ordinances changing minimum wage in California!

California ranks 4th in the US, for minimum wage laws. However, four city ordinances have increased minimum wages in there city. Employers have to make sure they are in compliance with the minimum wages and benefits required by the city. In San Francisco, the City will gradually raise its minimum wage from its current rate… Read more »

Posted on November 12, 2014 by Rick Rossignol



I-9 Audits on the rise.

We are seeing a sharp uptick in I-9 audits. Fines resulting from I-9 audits have exploded in recent years, and employers should put a high priority on making sure their policies and paperwork are in compliance. Failure to be in compliance with form I-9 leads to fines. Employer need to develop a program that enables… Read more »

Posted on September 20, 2014 by Rick Rossignol

Tags:


California Employers must provide All employees PAID SICK Time

Life just got a little more complicated for employers! Employers have to provide Part-time and temporary workers up to three paid sick days a year. Beginning July 1, 2015, every employee, whether full time or part time, who is employed in California for 90 days or more will be entitled to accrue paid sick leave… Read more »

Posted on September 5, 2014 by Rick Rossignol