Human Resources

New Overtime Pay Rules

The Department announced a Final Rule focused primarily on updating the salary and compensation levels needed for Executive, Administrative and Professional workers to be exempt. For more information, see http://www.dol.gov/whd/overtime/final2016/. The primary change raises the salary test to a weekly salary $913.00 or annual salary $47,476. The salary test in CA currently is $800.00 per… Read more »

Posted on May 27, 2016 by Rick Rossignol


New Overtime Pay Rules

The Department announced a Final Rule focused primarily on updating the salary and compensation levels needed for Executive, Administrative and Professional workers to be exempt. For more information, see  http://www.dol.gov/whd/overtime/final2016/. The primary change raises the salary test to a weekly salary $913.00 or annual salary $47,476. The salary test in CA currently is $800.00 per… Read more »


EXEMPT or NON-EXEMPT

The Department of Labor is increasing it’s audit to ensure employers are not misclassifying employees exempt. In addition, they are changing the rules to make more positions classified as non-exempt. Employers should audit their employee classifications to ensure they do not have misclassified employees. Conducting job analysis on for all positions is best way to ensure… Read more »


COMMON WAGE AND HOUR MISTAKES

Employers needs to audit there wage and hour practices to ensure that they are not making mistakes that would cause to violate Employment Law. MISCLASSIFYING NON-EXEMPT EMPLOYEES AS EXEMPT FROM FSLA. Lucrative attorneys’ fees continue to motivate lawyers to file individual and class actions on behalf of improperly classified employees. Two test to qualify for exempt… Read more »


Minimum Wages goes up!

2016 Employees earn more  Minimum Wage—Effective Jan. 1, 2016, is raised to $10.00 per hour in California. To be exempt from FSLA employees must be paid a weekly salary that is two times more than minimum wage. Example: minimum wage is $10.00 and weekly salary must be $20.00 or more. Salary of $800.00 a week…. Read more »


Waiting Time Penalties

Labor Code Section 203 makes a California employer liable if it has willfully failed to timely pay final earned wages to an employee whose employment has terminated. The offending employer must pay an amount equal to the employee’s daily wages from the due date until the date of payment, up to a maximum of 30 days…. Read more »


Minimum Wage Change 2016

The $10 state-wide minimum wage that hits us onJanuary 1, 2016, will complicate things even more than the last increase. The obvious employer takeaway from the new minimum wage hike is that now it’s time to pay more: Pay more hourly wages. As in 2014, the increase in minimum wage will increase what employers must… Read more »

Posted on December 5, 2015 by Rick Rossignol


The City of Sacramento Votes to Increase the Minimum Wage

The wage will go to $10.50 by 2017; $11 by 2018; $11.75 by 2019; and $12.50 by 2020. Small businesses (with 100 employees or less) will be on a different schedule, working from a timeline that is a year behind larger establishments. By offering health benefits, employers will be able to get a $2 credit,… Read more »

Posted on November 7, 2015 by Rick Rossignol